Vapor Intrusion Reference Guide: State by State

The science used to evaluate potential vapor intrusion (VI) into buildings is evolving constantly. As this occurs, the federal government and individual states are updating their regulations, but not always in a consistent manner. If you are a person responsible for environmental management in multiple states, you have several challenges. One among them is trying to stay up to date on the “fluid nature” of VI regulation and standards. As an aside, Dragun’s vapor intrusion video discusses the way that VI concerns are driving more and more projects.

With this “challenge” in mind, Dragun has created the quick-reference table below. By simply clicking on a state, you can access information and links about how that state currently regulates VI (also see Vapour Intrusion Reference Guide: Canadian Provinces and Territories). In addition, where possible, we have included the standards for a few of the common chemicals of concern for VI exposure.

By simply clicking on a state, you can access information and links about how that state currently regulates VI.

Click on the applicable state below to access information about how that state currently regulates VI.

It’s worth repeating the obvious – VI standards are changing constantly. We cannot guarantee that the standards have not changed since the creation of this quick-reference table. Each page provides the date that the information was last updated.

If you would like to be informed when we provide the updates, you can add your name to our mailing list on the right side of this webpage.

Do you need assistance in designing a VI investigation strategy? Do you need a second opinion? Do you need expert services for vapor intrusion? We can help.  Contact Jeffrey Bolin or Matthew Schroeder, P.E at 248-932-0228.



Individual (US) State

Vapor Intrusion Standards


Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas
California Colorado Connecticut Delaware
Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho
Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas
Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi
Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada
New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York
North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma
Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina
South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah
Vermont Virginia Virginia West Virginia
Wisconsin Wyoming